2018 PhD Scholarship Program and Application Process

For all applicants, both International and Domestic

3 PhD Research Scholarships are available in projects aligning with MRIWA’s Research Priority Plan

Available for new projects beginning after October 31, 2018 and within 8 months of that date.

  • 1 Directors’ PhD Scholarship at no less than $40,000 in one of the following fields:

        In-Situ Leaching          Data Analytics           Scale-up from Bench to Production

  • 2 PhD research scholarships at no less than $30,000 annually
    • Odwyn Jones Scholarship
    • MRIWA Research Scholarship (open to women applicants only)

Please ensure that your EOI clearly states which Scholarship(s) you are applying for.

Application Process 

Applications are made in two parts: Formal application through individual university and EOI sent direct to MRIWA.

The process for enrolment and scholarship is determined by the individual university:

Curtin            ECU

  Murdoch         UWA

The Expression of Interest to MRIWA should be made as early as possible and no later than October 31, 2018.

At a minimum your EOI should include:

  • Which Scholarship(s) (Directors’, Odwyn Jones or MRIWA Research) you wish to be considered for.
  • Your full name, residential address, contact telephone number and email
  • University Academic Record
  • Letters of reference from two (2) academics familiar with your career
  • One-page description of research proposal with signed endorsement from your proposed research supervisor, their university and faculty

EOI should be sent to: Your application will be deemed and considered as incomplete should you not provide an EOI directly to MRIWA.

Closing dates are dependent on university.  Overall closing date for MRIWA is 31 October 2018.

For further information please contact MRIWA on 08 6180 4340 or email

Scholarship Presentation Ceremonies


Hon Sean L’Estrange, Minister for Mines and Petroleum with the 2016 award winners

MRIWA held its 2016 Annual Scholarships Ceremony at Mineral House on Thursday 7 July.

The achievements of 8 students were recognised with presentations being made by the Honourable Sean L’Estrange, Minister for Mines and Energy.

4 PhD scholarships and 3 Honours research scholarships were awarded as well as a prize presented for the 2015 Best Thesis.

The details of the winners and their projects are listed below:


Minister L’Estrange presenting the 2016 Directors PhD award to Ahmad Saleem


Ahmad Saleem – Winner of the 2016 Directors PhD award – University of Western Australia

Quantifying the role of exploration upside in mineral project evaluations: the missing link in project value determination?

Supervisors: Professors Mark Jessell and Professor Allan Trench.

Eun Joo Choi – PhD award winner – University of Western Australia

Alkaline magmatism as a probe into the architecture of the Archean lithospheric mantle, Yilgarn Craton, Western Australia.

Supervisor: Professor Marco Fiorentini

Rashid Vaneghi – PhD award winner – Curtin University

Progressive damage mechanisms of rocks subjected to cyclic loading.

Supervisor: Professor Benham Ferdosi

Harry Watts – PhD award winner – University of Western Australia

Developing a more benign way to extract rare earths from monazite ore using a sequence of weak organic acids at a moderate pH and room temperature and ore recirculation.

Supervisor: Professor Yee-Kwong Leong

Odwyn Jones Awards:

Wei Han – OJ Award Winner – Curtin University

Haulage simulation for autonomous haulage trucks.

Supervisor: Professor Carla Boehl

Kaarina Recklies – OJ Award Winner –  Murdoch University

The effects of clays, dispersants and collectors on the flotation of Au-Cu ores.

Supervisor: Professor Aleks Nikoloski

Thomas Pilote – OJ Award Winner – University of Western Australia

Geochemical and petrological controls on rare earth element mineralization, and phase mobility in the Mukinbudin granitic pegmatites and their associated regolith profiles.

Supervisor: Dr Anthony Kemp