2019/2020 PhD Scholarship Programme and Application Process



MRIWA offers two PhD research scholarships annually for new projects aligning with MRIWA’s Research Priority Plan (RPP) located here, which  commence after 31 October 2019 and before 30 June 2020.

Both international and domestic candidates are welcome to apply.


Odwyn Jones scholarship
  • PhD research scholarship
  • Value of no less than $30,000 annually

Closing date: 31 October 2019

MRIWA research scholarship for women (female applicants only)
  • PhD research scholarship
  • Value of no less than $30,000 annually

Closing date: 31 October 2019

MRIWA scholarships can be offered as top-up scholarships for those successful applicants who have also been awarded an RTP stipend scholarship through their university.

How to apply

  1. Individuals are first required to enrol in a doctoral research degree at your preferred university. You must receive and accept an enrolment offer from the university for a research degree first before applying to MRIWA for a scholarship.

Applicants are encouraged to check the relevant closing dates at your university.

  1. Once you receive your offer from your university, provide an Expression of Interest (EOI) to MRIWA. Your EOI must include:
Section A – Personal details
  • Applicant name
  • Nationality
  • Contact details: residential address, telephone and email
  • IELTS (or equivalent) documentation, where applicable
Section B – Relevant qualifications
  • Research credentials including details on qualifications and awards/recognition received
  • Summary of related professional experience, if any
  • Two (2) signed references from academics familiar with your research to date
Section C – MRIWA Scholarship Categories
  • Which scholarships is being applied for (i.e. Odwyn Jones Scholarship or MRIWA Research Scholarship for Women)
  • Statement of Intent for interest in MRIWA scholarship
Section D – Research proposal
  • Letter of offer from university
  • Research proposal title
  • Research proposal overview (max. 50 words)
  • Proposed academic supervisors and signed endorsement from them of the proposal
  • University Faculty
  • Research proposal detail including, research problem, objectives, methodology and project plan outlining timeframes
  • Demonstration how the research proposal:
    • aligns to MRIWA’s RPP (max. 50 words);
    • will provide benefit to WA (max 100 words)

All documentation must be translated to English by an accredited translator and the translation must bear the evidence of this accreditation, if original documentation is in a language other than English.

EOI must be sent to: scholarships@mriwa.wa.gov.au

 MRIWA scholarship application closing date: 31 October 2019

 For all scholarship-related queries and further information please contact MRIWA on 08 6180 4340 or via email scholarships@mriwa.wa.gov.au