Search this website

Mines and Petroleum Minister David Michael today welcomed four new awardees to a PhD scholarship program funded by the State Government through the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (MRIWA).

The recipients recognised by Minister Michael join a cohort of talented research students working across WA’s universities to support the future of the State’s mining industry.

Emad Al-Hemyari has been awarded the 2024 MRIWA Odwyn Jones PhD Scholarship, named in honour of pioneering Western Australian mining educator Professor Odwyn Jones AO.

Emad is investigating how sound waves and AI can visualise geology below the surface in real-time, making it easier for miners to discover and target hidden ore bodies.

Yamini Kannappan has been awarded the 2024 MRIWA PhD Scholarship for Women to support her work on developing cost-effective and environmentally friendly methods for extracting rare earth elements from low-grade host rocks.

Due to the exceptional quality of applications received this year, MRIWA has awarded additional PhD Scholarships to Sistine Sun, for her work on the impact of CO2 emissions reduction targets on the WA mining industry, and to Muzammil Khan for his research into technologies supporting low-carbon steel production.

More information about the MRIWA Scholarships program is available on our website.

Media statement: Expanded scholarship program supporting innovation in WA mining

Page was last reviewed 17 April 2024

Back to main content