Welcome to the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia

The Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia (MRIWA) is a statutory body established by the Western Australian Government under the Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia Act 2013 to stimulate minerals research to support investment in, and operation of, a globally competitive minerals industry in Western Australia.

MRIWA’s primary function is to provide and administer funding grants to carry out minerals research.  The Institute is able to collaborate with local, Australian and worldwide research and scientific institutions and is also able to undertake and procure minerals research itself.

As well as directly supporting minerals research projects, MRIWA funds are available for projects, programs and events that promote public awareness of, and interest in, minerals research, and to support related academic activities.

MRIWA has a scholarships program for PhD candidates and for final year students’ Honours projects, where the field of study is relevant to the MRIWA objectives as detailed in it’s Research Priority Plan.

The expertise of MRIWA is available to the State Minister and the WA Government to foster and promote minerals research for the benefit of the Western Australia.

The Minerals Research Institute of Western Australia Act 2013 repeals the Minerals and Energy Research Act 1987 thereby abolishing the Minerals and Energy Research Institute of Western Australia (MERIWA).

News and Events

Logo for Website
9 Aug

Proposed Kalgoorlie-Boulder Innovation Hub

MRIWA is pleased to see the concept of the Kalgoorlie-Boulder Innovation Hub taking on significant momentum and approaching reality in a partnership between CRC ORE and its industry and research members including MRIWA and Curtin University – an exciting development for the WA mining community! Read more: ...

View News
Logo for Website
21 Jun

Appreciation of, and farewell to retiring Board Members

The Institute recently bid farewell to two of its long-serving Board members: Ms Michelle Andrews and Dr Andrew Shook.  Michelle leaves to take on a senior executive roll within the Department of Premier and Cabinet. Michelle brought to the Board a most valuable understanding of government processes and priorities, as ...

View Event